The “long session” of the General Assembly began this past Wednesday with just the formalities of swearing in Senate and House members and handing out the gavels to the Chairs of the committees. After about 2 hours they adjourned and will return on Wednesday January 27th to begin the session. It will probably be slow to start but we do expect some activity with legislation affecting fisheries.

As far as committees go, the Senate has named their standing committees, but as of this morning, the House has only released the names of the Chairs. The House will have a new standing committee: MARINE RESOURCES AND AQUACULTURE, and will be chaired by Rep. Bobby Hanig of Currituck County. In the past all fisheries bill went through the WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMITTEE, but that will change with this new committee. The Wildlife Resources Committee will be chaired by Rep. Jay Adams and Rep. Larry Yarborough. The entire membership of the Marine Resources Committee should be listed on their website soon, so you can check here: https://www.ncleg.gov/Committees/CommitteeInfo/HouseStanding/205

On the Senate side, it’s expected that fisheries related bills will go through the AGRICULTURE, ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE, chaired by Senators Chuck Edwards, Brent Jackson and Norman Sanderson. Their complete committee listing can be found here: https://www.ncleg.gov/Committees/CommitteeInfo/SenateStanding/1162

Two seats have been filled as a result of resignations, which we reported earlier. Senator Sam Searcy resigned and his replacement is Senator Sydney Batch, Democrat from Wake County. She’s a former House member who was defeated in her re-election bid. Representative Darren Jackson’s replacement is Representative James Roberson, Democrat from Wake County. Mr. Jackson was the House Minority Leader and his replacement in that capacity is Representative Robert Reives II.

Congratulations to the Chairs!

If you have any questions about this session or committees, just call or send an email.

God bless,




NCFA’s 2021 Annual Meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 23, 2021 @ 11am.  Details will be posted in the near future.